New Obsession: Log Horizon

3dfcb15a9ccb8cb17d33b7377cd74246.jpg

Before someone comments, yes I know the author Mamare Touno (real name Daisuke Umezu) has been found guilty of tax evasion. Honestly, I am not that surprised.  The guy did focus a lot on economics in Log Horizon.

Heck, the majority of the second book is pretty much economics the light novel. I just wonder if this will be a plot point in the upcoming volumes. That would be pretty interesting.

I finally got around to reading Log Horizon recently. I don’t know what took me so long but I wish I had started sooner. This light novel series is fantastic! God, I have to contain myself from fangirling while writing this. This series is right up there with No Game No Life, if you know me, you will know that this is extremely high praise.

Also, just to clarify, I have not seen the anime yet. I’m going to watch it once I finish all the light novels that are available in English. For that reason I won’t compare the two.

de2b48cf7d72464baf5259e0e27479ed.jpg

The story is about players of the MMORPG Elder Tale discovering that they have been pulled into a world just like the game. Instead of being just an action story, while there is plenty of action, the story is about how people adapt and create a new society.

Log Horizon follows Shiroe, his old friend Naotsugu and the assassin Akatsuki. The trio reunite with old friends and make new ones as they learn how to survive in this new world.

I am currently on the third book, and enjoying every page. I adore this series, particularly the characters. My favourites so far are Shiroe, the Machiavellian with Glasses and Nyanta, the Captain of the Debauchery Tea Party. I love the interaction between these two.

Perhaps my favourite element of Log Horizon is just how well it takes advantage of its MMORPG setting. With how combat works, NPCs and MMORPG mechanics. As a lover of MMORPGs I enjoy how well this element is written.

837ca43bb03a767d93dcddd045ea882e.jpg

It’s a bit hard to write this, as I don’t want to spoil anything but at the same time there is a lot I want to say but in doing may give away some key twists and turns. I have even been pretty careful with the images I’m going to use for this ramble.

Log Horizon is a fun read. I know I already said this, but these characters are fantastic. You should pick up the light novel just because of them. However, if you love MMORPGs this is the book series for you. With an interesting story, creativity and the amazing characters that I have been harping on about.

I don’t know how else to describe this series. Again, I’m only on the third book. Give it a try!

2 thoughts on “New Obsession: Log Horizon

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑