Posted in Feature

Anime annoyances

As much as I adore anime, there are quite are few things about it that irritate me. I decided to write about a few of them. Bear in mind, these are my opinions.

mirai-nikki-episode-3-bad-ending
When your anime ends on a cliffhanger
  • Read the manga endings

It is always so disappointing when you have watched a series for so long, only to be given a terrible ending. However, there is something worse. Read the manga endings. At least with bad endings, you have an ending.

With read the manga endings (if you can even call them that) is probably the biggest  spit in the face. Mostly because it is hard or even downright impossible to get certain manga.Even if you can, chances are it’s really pricey.

Rebeccas-plot

  • Unnecessary fan-service episodes 

Who doesn’t love fan-service? Thing is, it sucks when the dark gritty plot grinds to a halt so the characters can go to the beach. *cough* Future Diary *cough*.

Worse, is when a show is compleatly serious then all of a sudden BOOBIES!

imouto 03

  • Incest

Yeah, I’m going there.

There is a shocking abundance of incest in anime. Whether its cousins or brothers and sisters, it is really awkward for me to watch.

It’s even in Osomatsu-San! There is one episode in particular that made me rather uncomfortable while watching it. Episode 16, The Ichimatsu Incident. It’s a funny episode but clearly a fan-service episode (see above).

I was going to look into why there is so much incest in anime, but I don’t want to know. I am mentally disturbed enough, thank you every much. Still, it worries me how common it is.

tumblr_nq3sxpgPC71tdn5owo1_500

  • The fandom

Admittedly, this isn’t animes fault, nor do I dislike the fandom. I love you guys!

However, I think its safe to say that the anime fandom has to be one of the most insane and passionate fandoms. If not the fandom of all fandoms.

Take recently, sorry for going on and on about Osomatsu-San, but since one of the recent episodes of Steven Universe, Osomatsu-San fans have hijacked the SU fandom. I’m not complaining, as I am in both fandoms after all, but if something remotely anime related appears anywhere the anime fans will show up like someone said Beetlejuice three times.

I am not even going to touch the shipping wars. I want to live, man. Those two words give me PTSD.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

7 thoughts on “Anime annoyances

  1. When I saw the title of this post, I wondered what you would include. Thanks for sharing.
    I definitely think anime should try to finish their story, even if they do it poorly. Unfinished stories drive me crazy but I don’t want to have to try to track down a totally different medium to find out how the story ends.
    Fan Service doesn’t bother me unless it is really overt or there is no story around it. Same with incest. I just kind of ignore both unless it gets too explicit and then I’ll move on. I’m sure there’s an audience for it somewhere (which is probably why they keep making it) but it isn’t me.
    In terms of fandom, I think fans of anything that use being a fan as an excuse for poor or disruptive behaviour are irritating.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually avoid the first problem by waiting until the anime is finished to start watching it, and then checking on some minor spoilers to see if the ending is not completely awful. I realize this might not work for longer series, though.
    As for the fanservice issue, it’s sadly true that most series cannot keep it tasteful and without being a hindrance to the actual plot…

    Like

Leave a Reply

