Posted in Mentionable Manga

Mentionable manga: I Am a Hero

3323370-iiam1Manga can be pretty disturbing, but no manga has freaked me out quite like I Am a Hero.

As you may have picked up by now, this series is not for those out there with faint hearts and weak stomachs. I Am a Hero is intense, brutal and distressing. Not to mention the dark themes that feature in this manga, such as mental illness, morality and insanity. Oh, and cults. Never forget about the cults.

I Am a Hero is an ongoing manga series by Kengo Hanazawa. The story follows Hideo Suzuki, a mentally disturbed manga-ka as he tries to survive a world gone mad. An outbreak of an unknown disease is turning people into blood hungry monsters. Armed with a sports shotgun, hallucinations, and low self-esteem he will fight for his life with those he meets on the way.

One thing that makes I Am a Hero stand out from other zombie stories is the artwork. Just look at it!

d562a13df4d401a0b137a60a3515df23.jpg

This has to be the most intense version of zombies I have ever seen. If the artwork wasn’t enough, these zombies talk. Well, kind of. They repeat phrases they said often while they were alive. That thought alone is terrifying enough. Fighting for survival against zombies is scary enough. But just imagine coming across an infected loved one, talking to you as they attack. God, that it horrific!

4595670-17

Hideo is an interesting protagonist. Even by manga standards, this guy is pretty out there. From the very start of the manga, we are shown that Hideo is a troubled individual. He is struggling to get my as a manga-ka and manga assistant, he is having issues with co-workers and his relationship with his girlfriend seems a little problematic. Not to mention his mental health issues. If things were not bad enough, everything changed when the zombies attacked.

He is struggling to get my as a manga-ka and manga assistant, he is having issues with co-workers and his relationship with his girlfriend seems a little problematic. Not to mention his mental health issues. If things were not bad enough, everything changed when the zombies attacked.

I can’t really talk about the other characters in this series without spoiling some plot elements. What I can say is that they play off each other brilliantly. The characters all bring something different to the story. Clashing personalities with clashing ideologies often make for interesting conflict, which in turn make stories far more engaging.

I know I already talked about the art style, but I am captivated by it. Maybe it is because of the realistic effect it has compared to the art styles I have seen before.

This series is so popular in Japan that a live action movie was released earlier this year. I am desperate to watch it, but at the time of writing, I haven’t found a legal way to do it. I don’t like streaming content illegally because as someone who wanted to work in the film industry I don’t want to hurt filmmakers.

Now that is what I call a zombie film. All jokes aside, if you know where I can stream this movie, please tell me!

This has to be one of the best zombie stories I have ever read, as well as one of my favourite horror stories. Like I said, the artwork is amazing and the writing is brilliant. I highly recommend I Am a Hero. This series if you are looking for a good horror story or if you are a fan of shows like The Walking Dead. With gore, fights and interesting characters, this series is a must read.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

