Stranger Things Read-A-Like

I am still recovering from Season 4 of Stranger Things. That ending, ouch. 

I might be a bit late since it stopped airing a while ago but I needed time to heal. Yeah, still not 100% there, but the show must go on. My goto curse for a broken heart? Reading to fill the void. 

So, allow me to recommend some books to try and fill that Stranger Things hole in your heart, or at least tide you over until Season 5. I have four that I hope will help you scratch that itch. 

Before we go forth onto the list, here are two honourable mentions. Firstly, the official Stranger Things novels and graphic novels. I’ve read a few of the graphic novels plus they are pretty good. I’m not sure if they are canon or not. Secondly, any Dragonlance or novels published by Wizard of the Coast, such as the Legacy of the Drow series by R. A. Salvatore. Considering how much of an influence the game has had on the show and vice versa, it makes sense to read some D&D novels.

Onto the list!

My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

My Best Friend’s Exorcism was the first book to pop into my head when I started writing this list. Honestly, I will take any opportunity to praise this novel and shout from the rooftops that everyone should read this.

Abby and her best friend Gretchen have been best friends since childhood, so they know each other very well. Well enough that Abby is the first to notice that her bestie is acting off. Unnatural and unsettling events begin occurring around Gretchen as she is warped into someone or something else. It’s up to Abby to save her best friend’s soul if it is not too late. 

It is bursting with 80s vibes and blood-chilling frights, it is perfect for Stranger Things fans and horror lovers in general.

Summer of Night by Dan Simmons

Alright, I know this book is set in the 60s not the 80s but it’s close enough. Also, it has a small group of 12-year-old boys one of them goes missing. Season one, anyone?

Tubby Cooke is only the first to go missing but this is just the start of the horrors to come. From stalkers, unexplained holes and a bizarre stranger the boys need to stick together to survive.

Summer of Night is the first in the Seasons of Horror series. So if you do enjoy this novel, there are three more for you to sink your teeth into.

Firestarter by Stephen King

Set during the Charlie McGee has inherited an immense power from her parents, a power the government will stop at nothing to possess.

Come on, of course, Stephen King was going to make it onto this list.

I had to go with Firestarter since it does feature a girl with supernatural abilities set in the 80s. This novel is said to be one of the inspirations for Stranger Things, although I haven’t seen anything from the creators to verify this claim. I can see the parallels, so I can’t say I disagree. 

One Word Kill by Mark Lawrence

D&D? Check. 

80s setting? Check.

Pop Culture references? Check.

This novel has it all!

Nick Hayes is not having a good week. First off, he is dying. Bummer. Then there is the new girl in his D&D group who is apparently in danger. Some weird yet familiar stranger told him so. Soon he is spiralling into a seemingly impossible puzzling time travel escapade. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: