Posted in Steam Powered

Steam Powered: Dream Daddy: A Dad Dating Simulator

rFr9ALxY_400x400I’ll be honest, I did not know what to expect from this game, outside of dating daddies.

Even before its arrival on Steam, there was a growing buzz surrounding Dream Daddy: A Dad Dating Simulator, so I felt compelled to get in on the action.

Written by Vernon Shaw and Leighton Gray and Produced by the Game Grumps Dream Daddy is 50% dad jokes, 25% fussing over your daughter, 10% puns, 10% minigames and 5% actually dating.

When I started my first playthrough, I thought it was going to be a silly dating sim with corny jokes, but it is a lot more than that. In fact, this might be the best-written dating sim I have ever played because you quickly fall for these characters. Not just the datable dads but you also build a bond with your in-game daughter, Amanda.

I have gone on record multiple times to say that I am a total sap and that I burst into tears at the drop of a hat. So it comes as no surprise that I cried several times as I played this game. On the other hand, I also love a good/bad pun and dad joke so I was laughing a lot during my dad dating adventure.

AmandaI have to hand it to them, I love the art in Dream Daddy. Each character has a distinct look and the overall feel of the game is light and bright. On top of that, the opening song is stuck in my head.

Something I found interesting when I loaded up the game for the first time is that you have the option to play as a trans man. I am glad to see more LGBT representation, not to mention how it is handled in the game. Having played Dream Daddy multiple times,  let me tell you that there is no difference in how characters treat you regarding your former spouse’s gender or if you are transgender.

If I had to voice one complaint, it is that they spelt Tintin wrong. When you pick your eyes the default pair you get is called Tin Tin eyes. TINTIN IS ONE WORD, PEOPLE! IT IS NOT THAT HARD TO UNDERSTAND!

Sorry, but that is a rant for another time.

Jokes aside, this is one hell of a cute game, one that I highly recommend. With laughs, cute moments and heartfelt scenes, you are going to have a great time finding your Dream Daddy.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

3 thoughts on “Steam Powered: Dream Daddy: A Dad Dating Simulator

Leave a Reply

