Posted in Confession

Confessions of a Game of Thrones avoider

tumblr_inline_nf2gsa1STz1safp8tPitchforks down!

Right, let me clear this up before we begin. I have nothing against Game of Thrones. I have just never gotten around to watching it.

In my (sort of) defence, I did try to read the books. I got a copy of the first book from my college library but it didn’t click with me. I read the first chapter but never picked it up again.

My younger sister is head over heels in love with not only the show but the books as well. Anytime I try to talk to her about Game of Thrones I pray I don’t mispronounce a name or say a quote incorrectly or she will explode. The nerd rage is strong with that one.

For a while, I considered watching Game of Thrones but to this day I haven’t. Why? Well, firstly most of the big plot twists and turns have been spoiled for me. Thanks, the internet!

The second reason is that the show is now entering its seventh season. There is no way I can catch up now.

Thing is, despite the spoilers I am still tempted to watch the show, mainly because of one character who has caught my attention.

Tyrion Lannister.

thenug-MtzfwGkOMV

From the clips I have seen and from what I have been told he is an intelligent drunk with a sharp wit and sharper tongue. He is an interesting character to me and I want to find out more about him. To do that properly, I need to watch the show or read the books.

However, considering my already mile long reading list, I don’t think the latter is an option. In fact, I have a growing number of anime series to keep up with as well, so the former might not be a valid choice either. At least, for the moment.

Will I ever watch Game of Thrones? Maybe, maybe not. Who knows?

 

 

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Game of Thrones avoider

  1. Even with a bunch of other stuff on your list, I seriously suggest giving the show a go, even if you don’t click with the books.

    I didn’t properly start watching until Season 6 had already started and literally just binged it until I caught up. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

