Posted in hopes and fears

Hopes and Fears: Spider-Man: Homecoming

MV5BNTk4ODQ1MzgzNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTMyMzM4MTI@._V1_UY1200_CR80,0,630,1200_AL_With Spider-Man: Homecoming only a few weeks away, I thought it would be a good time to discuss my hopes and fears for our friendly neighbourhood Spiderman’s latest film.

First up, my hopes.

I hope this film gives us the right balance between light-hearted comedy and character development. The MCU has a rather impressive track record for this, so I hope they keep it up.

While this isn’t the first time we have seen Tom Holland as Peter Parker, this is the first time he has played the character with the focus of the film on him. I hope he can bring us another great performance.

Time to talk about my fears.

I fear that Spidey will be overshadowed by Iron Man. It’s Tony Stark we are talking about here, he steals every scene he is in! My favourite bits in the Avengers movies where when he had the spotlight, and I worry that some viewers (myself included) will be looking forward to the Stark scenes rather than enjoying the movie as a whole.

SmhThe MCU has been doing well for itself lately, but I fear that this might end up hurting the newer films as they are expected to be just as good as the last one. I have said this before, but hype backlash is a real thing and it can kill good movies. I fear that Spider-Man: Homecoming might end up in this position if it doesn’t meet the high standards the movie going audience has for MCU movies.

Keep in mind, this is just my opinion. However, I would like to know what you think about the upcoming Homecoming. Are you excited or are you indifferent? Let me know!

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

