Posted in Feature

Geralt is coming to Netflix

tumblr_nokjfiXSxD1skp6koo1_500Just as I was beginning to calm down from the news about the Deadpool and Judge Dredd shows, the news broke about the latest adaptation Netflix is working on.

A live action series of The Witcher Saga.

Thank you, Netflix!

From what I can gleam, the show will follow the book series that the games are based on rather than the games themselves, but I am not complaining. In fact, this gives me an excuse to read the books.

On top of that, the writer of the original series, Andrzej Sapkowski, will be involved in the series as a creative consultant.

Sapkowski has gone on the record to say; “I’m thrilled that Netflix will be doing an adaptation of my stories, staying true to the source material and the themes that I have spent over 30 years writing. I’m excited about our efforts together, as well as the team assembled to shepherd these characters to life.”

6304f6b942d6419923f283b57942d53fI don’t know about you, but I have high hopes for this show. Especially since the original creator seems to be heavily involved.

Apparently, the original plan was to make a live action movie, but I think a series is the best way to explore the immersive world and the detailed lore of The Witcher.

Even though the news broke just last night, I am desperate for more information. When Will it be out? What is the budget? Who will play Geralt?

I will admit, I am finding it hard to picture a known actor who could play the legendary Witcher. I hope they go with new talent instead of using famous actors.

While actors have not been named yet, we do know that Sean Daniel (1999’s “The Mummy“) and Jason Brown (2017’s “The Mummy“) will be executive producers.

Personally, I am quite optimistic about this adaptation and I can’t wait to see it. If done right this could be an amazing fantasy show with plenty of action and charm. Cross your fingers, everyone!

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

One thought on “Geralt is coming to Netflix

  1. If this gets anywhere close to Game of Thrones adaptation quality, I think I may actually shriek with joy! I doubt my fiance is looking forward to that.

    I agree that a television series is in a greater position to offer a platform that will be able to explore the rich lore of the world better than any two hour film can.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

