Posted in Opinion Corner

Free Comic Book Day 2017

187696_1039353_14Yesterday was Free Comic Book Day also known as the best day of the year. This year there was 50 free comics handed out including manga.

I have been attending Free Comic Book Day events for the past three years.

In previous years, I would hang around town for a bit after grabbing my free goodies, but not this year. Mainly because I was too tired and I wanted to enjoy the decent weather at home while it lasted.

This year my quest for comics began at the ungodly hour of half past five. Having packed my kindle, water and snacks the night before so I thought I was properly prepared for the day. I only had an hour before my train arrived at the station.

I arrived at the growing queue at Forbidden Planet Glasgow around seven, I was number 12 when I took my spot in the line so I hoped I would I manage to pick up one of the limited Pop figures.

The kindle turned out to be unnecessary as I ended up having a good chat with fellow comic book fanatics as we waited.

18221762_704103523105220_6299482683022410860_nAfter waiting for an hour and finally being allowed into the store, I emerged the proud owner of a free Gold Iron Fist Funko figure. I also managed to pick up the second volume of the KonoSuba light novel for 20% off. Needless to say, I’m quite chuffed.

Since only five customers were let in at a time, I was in the third group to enter. This may be my third year, but the sight of free comics will never be less than beautiful.

By the time I left the store the queue stretched from the door up past several shops. I was glad I got in when I did.

In terms of this years line up of comics, I was pretty impressed. My personal favourite was Buffy: The High School Years, and this is coming from someone who still hasn’t got around to watching Buffy. It’s on my Netflix list, I will watch it soon I promise! In fact, Buffy: The High School Years has encouraged me to not only read the comic line but watch the show. 

stl037303-1493676590475_1280wAll-New Guardians of the Galaxy and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles were tied at a close second. I like the art style of All-New Guardians of the Galaxy and I am interested in where the storyline will go.

As for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, I love almost everything in the franchise, minus the Michal Bay films, so it was guaranteed that I would enjoy this year’s free comic.

All in all, I would have to say that this was a great Free Comic Book Day, and I can’t wait for the next on in 2018!

 

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

