Posted in review

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 Review

GotG_Vol2_poster.jpgWith the success of its 2014 predecessor, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 had a tough act to follow. Did they do enough to reach the stars, or did it get swallowed up in a black hole?

In Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 tensions are high as the Guardians begin to unravel the mystery of Peter’s parental past with friends and foes both old and new.

While they do somewhat recap the last film in bits here and there, to get the best experience you need to have seen the first Guardians of the Galaxy movie.  The only reason I’m mentioning this is because I went with my family and my dad kept asking me to explain stuff during the film.

While there is a lot of fast-paced action scenes, the focus of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 is on the characters. In particular, Yondu and Nebula who are second tier characters in the first film get their time to shine here. We learn more about the Guardians and their backgrounds and see a more vulnerable side to Rocket and Gamora.

3o7budMRwZvNGJ3pyEWe are also introduced to Mantis, a character that I hope sticks around. I could rant about how much I adore her but that would give away major spoilers, so I will, regrettably, move on with the review instead.

There are a lot of emotional moments and I am not going to lie, I cried. I cried more times than I care to admit. That being said, I cry easily so that might just be me being a softie.

For a Disney film, there is a surprising about of sex jokes in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. I’m not complaining, as most of them got a laugh out of me, I just didn’t expect it. On that note, while comedy is subjective I found this film when it wasn’t making me cry, side-splittingly funny.

Personally, I loved this film and I can’t wait to see it again. If you liked the first film, you are going to love Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. As always stick around for the after credits clip, because there isn’t just one extra scene this time.

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

