Posted in hopes and fears

Hopes and Fears: Wonder Woman (2017)

Wonder_Woman_(2017_film)As a DC fan, it hurts to admit that Marvel is currently winning in the live action movie category. In terms of both financial success and critical praise, Marvel is head and shoulders above DC.

Which is why I hope with all my heart that the new Wonder Woman movie breaks the trend for DC movies.

That, and as a long time fan of the Amazonian princess, I want to see her shine in her stand-alone live action movie.

So, let’s get down to business. Here are my hopes and fears for the upcoming Wonder Woman.

Hopes

Mild spoiler if you haven’t read the comics, but in many iterations of the Wonder Woman story,  Steve Trevor and Diana become a couple. From what I have been reading online it seems that this might be the case in this film. If so, I hope the focus is not on the romance but rather the two learning from each other.

353972ebeea4bfcddb668d2648641947In all honestly, I hope there isn’t any romance. Frankly, I would prefer for them to have a close bond but a platonic one. At least in this film. The romance element might be better suited for a sequel. Give us a chance to learn more about Diana and Steve as individuals, then get them together.

On the topic of Steve, he tends to get the short end of the stick when it comes to character development. He is usually only around for Diana to save, a male Lois Lane if you will. Like Lois, he has been given a more rounded personality over the years but it depends on the writer. I love Chris Pine and I hope he can bring some life into Steve and make him a proper character, rather than a dude in distress.

If I wanted a gender-swapped version of the damsel in distress role, I would watch or read Witchcraft Works. Side note, it is a good title, I recommend it.

Back on topic, and my final hope is that they get the balance right between action scenes and character development scenes. While I love a good fight, it isn’t going to mean much if we don’t care about the characters involved and are not invested enough to root for them. On the other hand, this is a comic book film about a warrior fighting in the first world war, give us some awesome fight scenes!

Fears

wonder_womanDC fans, let’s admit that the bar for this film is pretty low. Considering how Suicide Squad and Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice didn’t deliver, I think the general consensus is fairly positive.  But I still have a couple of concerns.

My biggest fear that this film will have to deal with two extreme reactions from both sides of the policial scale. I am expecting some kitchen jokes but if I am being honest, the ones I fear the most are those who freaked out that Diana has no armpit hair.

Yes, that was a thing.

This is one of the first comic book films with a female as our lead that seems to be treating the source material with the respect it deserves, and people are mad about her armpits. Maybe I’m missing something, but I don’t understand why this was such a heated topic. To be frank, I don’t think I want to know.

I want to see Wonder Woman beat up bad guys and learn to operate in a new land, I don’t want social commentary. No thanks.

At least DC are doing a stand alone film for their wonderful heroine, and I for one can’t wait to see it. What about you? Are you hopeful, or fearful about this movie? Let me know in the comments!

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

