Posted in New Obsession

New Obsession: Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links

unnamedDammit, Shiloh! Stop getting me addicted to stuff!

Back in Highschool, I was really into Yu-Gi-Oh! I loved the anime, the manga and the card game. However, with every new series, the rules kept changing and it confused me. So I stopped playing the card game and eventually stopped watching the anime.

Then on Tuesday, my dear friend Shiloh asked if I had the Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links app. When I said no she recommended it.

Now, I am hooked.

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links is a lot of fun. I am still a bit rusty but thankfully I’m picking it up fairly easily. At first, I was worried that you would have to pay to get cards, but that isn’t the case. Well, you can, but it isn’t necessary as you can use gems you win.

jou.pngI’m hardly the king of card games. I’m pretty unlucky, so I tend to get a bad hand and I tend to draw cards that aren’t any use at that point in time.

At least the app gives you hints and keeps count of your LP. Back in Highschool, I had to have someone coaching me every time I played, I was that bad.

If I had to nitpick, I would have liked the option to use a customisable character. You can customise your deck so why not have a customisable character?

However, I can’t really complain. After all, they did bring back the original voice actors to reprise their roles.

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links had also reignited my old love for the franchise as a whole. I recently found my old Yu-Gi-Oh! cards and started to rewatch the original anime.

Side note, why isn’t Yu-Gi-Oh! GX on Netflix? That was my favourite series, but they only have the original and the newest at the moment. Oh, and the Bonds Beyond Time movie.

While Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links will appeal to a new generation of Duelists, I think it is safe to say that it was made with the original fans in mind. Because of that, this app is perfect for anyone. I recommend it if you are looking for a free way to play the card game or just kill some time.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

