Posted in New Obsession

New Obsession: Voltron

Voltron_poster_finaljpegOnce again, I am late to the party. Well, better late than never.

Voltron: Legendary Defender is an animated Netflix original series about a group of heroes brought together by chance who must learn to be a team in order to save the universe. It is based off an 80s series which is also on Netflix but I have no intention of watching it.

Man, I love this show! I don’t know why It has taken me so long to finally get around to watching it. I started watching it this Thursday and binged 18 episodes in one day. Yeah, I might have a problem, but we have all been there.

Each of the five heroes has a giant robot lion and they can combine to form Voltron, the ultimate weapon and the only thing that can defeat the villainous Galra Empire. The five lions have different abilities to match their bonded pilots personality. The show is a good old fashioned space adventure with plenty of action and character development.

tenor.gifSpeaking of which, my favourite character is Pidge, the youngest and smartest member of the team who pilots the Green Lion. Pidge is the team’s resident tech geek, but there is a lot more to this kid than just technobabble.

Pidge is quick-witted and snarky, yet rather compassionate. This geek is a bit on the pessimistic side but determined and dedicated.

On that note, there is a bit of a twist involving Pidge but I don’t want to spoil it. In fact, most of the characters have secrets revealed about them over the course of the show. It keeps the show interesting. I would go so far as to say that the plot of the show is pretty basic, the real source of entertainment is watching the characters grow and adapt to their situation.

636051021893064055727735793_tumblr_static_tumblr_static_dbmi8x7xdhwsssw8cw4socc4o_640

I went into this show fairly blind, knowing only that Shiro was the leader of the team and that the fandom gave him the nickname of Space Dad. Outside of that, all I knew was that it was popular. I am kicking myself for not watching Voltron: Legendary Defender sooner.

If you like SciFi action then you really need to watch Voltron: Legendary Defender, trust me, you will love it.

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

