Posted in Confession

Confessions of a theatre geek

tumblr_m9sjz7T4fx1rqzzgxIn my less than humble opinion, nothing beats going to the theatre. To me, it is the ultimate night out. Thing is, it is so expensive! Thank goodness that some theatre groups upload parts of the plays online and sometimes the soundtracks if it is a musical.

If I had to pick a genre, I would say my favourite is comedy. I love plays such as the Book of Mormon, Avenue Q and Legally Blonde. Not to mention the sidesplitting Gilbert and Sullivan operetta, The Mikado.

Side note, I went to go see The Mikado knowing nothing about it besides the fact that it was a comedy set in Japan. I was not prepared for the dry wit nor the powerful songs. It has to be one of the best performances I have ever seen. Well, that said, the fire alarm went off during the second half and we had to be evacuated, only for it to be revealed that it was set off by a bee. Yes, a bee. Then I broke my seat. Thankfully the seat next to me was empty.

tumblr_nynftguAGV1sbl2o1o1_250.gifOne day while scrolling through YouTube I stumbled on a play called Heathers: The Musical. It sounded interesting and I watched it. Now I am obsessed! I know all the songs by heart (Freeze your brain is my favourite) but I had never seen or heard of the film it was based on.  After watching the film, I think I prefer the musical, but I think that is because I saw the musical first.

I had an awesome Drama teacher in Highschool who would offer us discounted tickets to see plays that her group did. I went to all four. These plays were One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Lost in Yorkers, Lovers and Arsenic and Old Lace. I cried at every single one of these plays, though it was tears of laughter at Arsenic and Old Lace but that still counts.

tumblr_nelkv9PkS21rt0njoo8_250.gifOne of my pals and I love a musical called The Devil’s Carnival. She introduced me to it last year and I am still humming ‘In all my dreams I drown’. Heck, I’m listening to the soundtrack as I write this. So you can imagine how happy I was when I found out that the team behind it are making a new musical named American Murder Song and they have been uploading snippets online including several songs. I cannot wait to get my hands on it!

I’m pretty sure we have all had a song stuck in our heads at inappropriate times, and even on occasion sang or muttered them out loud. Have you ever found yourself singing ‘I Believe’ from The Book of Mormon, only to walk past a Mormon missionary as he gives you a glare? No? Just me then? Good to know.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a theatre geek

  1. I agree though I haven’t seen most of these especially when they are too expensive or even too far away. One of my faves is Evil Dead a musical that I would have to fly all the way too America to even possibly get a chance to see it if it’s still running. The same goes for any Starkid musicals that have a fairly short run each only in america. Thank god for youtube.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love going to the theatre. My heart is for musicals and songs have gotten stuck in my head. Comedies were the types of shows I saw growing up. I believed all musicals were happy because that was all I had seen. The happy shows have become most musicals recently and I hope they stay that way

    Like

Leave a Reply

