Posted in New Obsession

New Obsession: Danganronpa 1.2 reload

91u0IIzPqmLI’m kind of breaking my rules on this one.

You see, I have been obsessed with the Danganronpa franchise for a wee while now. A friend of mine had Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc on PSP and let me play a bit of it. Since I don’t have a PSP I was glad to know there was an anime adaptation, so I watched that. When

When Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc was released last year on Steam, I was over the moon and bought it as soon as I could. Thing is, my laptop couldn’t run it, I had wasted my money.

Now, a year later, the first and second Danganronpa games, Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc and Danganronpa 2: Goodbye Despair have been released together for the PS4, meaning I can finally play the games!

buttonSince it’s release six days ago I have been playing Danganronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc non-stop. Currently, I’m on Chapter five and loving it. I will admit that, since I have already seen the anime, I already know all the twists and turns which does dampen the experience a bit. After all, you are meant to solve murder cases but it is pretty easy to do that if you know the outcome. However, the game goes into way more detail than the anime.

Also, while I know some spoilers about Danganronpa 2: Goodbye Despair I haven’t had the entire game spoiled for me.

I don’t think I need to talk about what this game series is about, considering that it was released back in 2010 and it has a sizable following. But just to be safe, I’ll briefly go over the basics. The best way to describe the

ReloadThe best way to describe the Danagnronpa series is if Battle Royale and Phoenix Wright had a love child that was raised by Tim Burton. A group of talented students are trapped by the twisted teddy, Monokuma and are given a choice. Kill a classmate and leave, or live at Hopes Peak for the rest of their lives.

If only it was as simple as killing, you see in order to ‘graduate’ and leave you not only have to kill but get away with it. After someone is killed, you the player must investigate and find the killer in a Class Trial.

The comparison makes sense now, doesn’t it?

The main reason, of many, that I love Danganronpa is the characters. While the premise of the game is unique enough to gain a decent amount of attention, it’s the student body that makes this game series stand out.

TF.pngMy personal favourite character is Toko Fukawa, the Ultimate Writing Prodigy. As a writer, I tend to gravitate to characters who are also writers, but Toko is more than just a writer. Like all of the characters, she is a fully rounded and interesting personality. Unfortunately, I can’t say anything else about her without giving away some serious spoilers.

I hate that I like Monokuma, considering all the horrific things he does in the game, I still laugh at his jokes and can’t bring myself to dislike the fiendish fluffy guy.

There are two more games in the series that are coming out later this year, Danganronpa Another Episode: Ultra Despair Girls which will be released here in Europe on the 27th of June and Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony on the 29th of September. While I am glad I that they are coming soon, I want them now!

With a set of oddball characters and a sinister plot, the Danganronpa series is certainly a good way to kill time. Sorry, I couldn’t help myself! Jokes aside, if you have the chance, give this game series a shot.Just remember, have hope and don’t give into despair!

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

