Posted in Old or Gold?

Old or Gold: Day of the Tentacle Remastered (PS4)

imageAh, PS Plus. You have given me a decent game again. Much appreciated.

PS Plus is the video game equivalate of a monthly scratch card, some months you get awesome games and deals, other months, not so much. Thankfully, February was a good month as one of the free games was Day of the Tentacle Remastered. 

Day of the Tentacle was first released back in 1993 by Double Fine, the guys behind another title I like, Psychonauts. The remastered version was released in March last year, but I didn’t think much of it at the time. .When I read the description earlier this month and found out it was a Double Fine game, I decided to give it a try.

lDay of the Tentacle Remastered is a Point and Click adventure game that follows three roommates Hoagie, Bernard and Laverne as they get stuck in the past, present and future respectively and have to work together to stop the evil purple tentacle before he takes over the world.

Man, this game is weird.

Well, duh. It’s a Point and Click adventure. They are all weird, it’s the nature of the beast. On top of that, it is a Double Fine game, they tend to make odd games. I suspected that was going to be the case with Day of the Tentacle Remastered and low and behold, I was right.

I love puzzle games and I like to think of myself as a very logical person, however rational logic only goes so far in Point and Click adventures. In fact, normal logic gets chucked out the window and replaced with moon logic.

This is a little bit infuriating for me because I’m sitting here trying to work out what to do and after a good while I do something random for the sake of trying and it works! Part of me is relieved that I got there in the end while the other half is internally screaming.

bv.pngBefore you say it, I know that I could easily google the answer, but I am way too stubborn for that. My ego won’t let me.

Moon logic is one thing, but Hoagie is such an irritating character. I really hated when I had to play as him. His dull monotone voice and lame dialogue got under my skin fast. It is a shame as the rest of the game is fine. I like Bernard and Laverne is a fun character, not to mention the witty jokes in this game.

Overall, I had some fun with Day of the Tentacle Remastered, but it was more joyful frustration rather than a joyful experience. Some of the puzzles rubbed me the wrong way, and Hoagie is intolerable (In my opinion) but I am glad I played it.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

