Posted in hopes and fears

Hopes and Fears: Logan

519-film-page-thumbnailIt is a bittersweet thing, thinking about Logan. While I, like many X-Men fans, am counting down the days until Logan is released, I can’t help but feel sad knowing that Hugh Jackman bearing his adamantium claws for the last time in this film.

I have been meaning to do another Hopes and Fears ramble, but I couldn’t think of an appropriate topic. Until now, at least. So, while we wait for our bub to get ready let me tell you about my expectations and worries about his latest film.

Hopes

Right off the bat, I gotta say that I hope this will have a fitting end for this interpretation of Wolverine. Jackman has been a fantastic Wolverine and I am gutted that he is now retiring from the role he has brought to life for 17 years. At the very least, I want Logan to end the legacy on a good note.

cxqaayzwiaab2l4I hope that Logan will get the balance right between action and character scenes. The X-Men franchise has had a good track record of balancing awesome fight scenes with quieter character development moments. I hope they keep on that path.

I hope Laura gets a character arc during this film instead of just being the character they need to protect. The trailers have shown us her kicking ass, which is a good start, but I don’t want another hit girl. I really want to she a dynamic to form between Wolverine and her, and for her to be a fleshed out developed character by the end of the film.

I hope I don’t get told any spoilers before seeing this film.

Fears

Obvious one out the way first, but I fear that the hype for Logan doesn’t work to its detriment. Had this been any other movie, I probably wouldn’t care if it suffered from hype backlash, but this is the end of an era that we are talking about here. It would be a shame if Logan was damaged because of this.

backgrounds_logan_outerI fear that this film will focus on gritty action and politics rather than the characters. See, ever since Marvel started writing the X-Men comics it has always been a rather political franchise. This element is still present in the films, and at times can come across as a bit preachy, especially when the professor and Magneto start talking/debating. I haven’t seen anything in the trailers to indicate that this might happen after all Magento isn’t even in this film, but I can’t shake the feeling that it could happen.

The stakes are high for Logan and I for one hope that it achieves its potential.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

