Posted in Page Turner

Page Turner: My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected

51xj8srwgwl-_sy344_bo1204203200_So, Valentine’s Day,  or how I like to call it International Cake Binging Day, is just around the corner. Another year that I am spending alone, yay.

To add insult to injury, I am on the last week of my temporary job at a card shop. Not only am I pretty much being dumped by my job, but I also have to serve people buying cards and gifts for their significant others. What can I say, I’m a bitter person.

Thankfully, I found a light novel which stars an equally bitter protagonist. That light novel is called My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected volume one.

Quite the title, huh?

My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected, follows pessimist protagonist Hachiman Hikigaya as he is forced into the Service Club by his teacher in an attempt to get him to clean up his act. From the word go he starts butting heads with the beautiful but bitchy Yukino Yukinoshita as they must now work together to help the students of their school however they can.

my-teen-romantic-comedy-snafu-too-ova-7850The story is written in Hachiman’s first person perspective which helps the reader understand him and makes it easier to sympathise with him. I relate to him more than I should admit. In fact, I picked up this light novel because of the tagline “A loner’s worst nightmare: Human interaction” and that struck a cord with me. Hachiman is smart, but jaded due to bad experiences in the past so he isolates himself from his peers.

Yukinoshita, on the other hand, is loved by all that meet her, besides Hachiman, yet isn’t the stereotypical popular girl we tend to see pop up in fiction. She is cold and blunt, yet still a likeable character.

Normally I would discuss the story, but the focus of My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected is on character interaction and development so I can’t really talk about it without getting into spoiler territory, sorry

my-teen-romantic-comedy-snafu-too-6265My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected is hardly an underground title, not only has the series been adapted into an anime called My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU, it also has three manga adaptations, two anthology volumes and two video games. That is pretty impressive.

Overall My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected is a good read I would recommend to anyone, particularly those who are into otaku culture as you will enjoy the references and get the inside jokes but you don’t need to be a part of that fandom to appreciate this book. With relatable characters and plenty of pessimism, this book is a good start, I can’t wait to read the second book!

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

