Posted in New Obsession

New Obsession: BioShock

tumblr_ob84iraewn1vbzsvqo1_500Sometimes a game or a game series just clicks with you, Bioshock is one of those games for me.

Yes, I know I’m late to the party. However, I want to talk about this game series and how it quickly became an obsession of mine.

I got a copy of BioShock: The Collection for Christmas but I only started playing it near the end of last month, so about two or three weeks ago. I quickly fell in love with the first game. I became to enraptured (Ha!) with it to the point that I managed to finish it within a week. I’m currently on the second game.

giphy-5Considering that the first game is nearly 10 years old, you probably already know the story. Heck, the plot twist is a meme. I thought that would dampen the experience for me, but I am glad to say it didn’t.

After playing the first BioShock, I can see why this game is so critically acclaimed. I have a thing for the sea, art deco and politics so I’m not surprised that this game resonates with me. It has inspired me to draw several sketches and I am currently reading Rapture by John Shirley. I keep doodling little shackles everywhere.

So far, while I am enjoying the second game, the original has to be my favourite but that is mostly due to the fact that I completed it. My opinion might change once I finish the other two. BioShock 2 does improve in the mechanics department, making it way easier to get the plasmid or weapon you need when you need it but I feel somewhat less invested. Plus, I prefer the hacking game in the first one.

tumblr_mtih42WMSB1sc0tu1o6_250.gifFor the record, I haven’t harvested a single little sister to date. I can’t bring myself to do so. I feel so bad for these poor wee girls. That isn’t really saying much, as they were designed to do so.

It’s even more emotional in the second game as you can adopt them for a while and they will gather ADAM for you, during that time they refer to you as daddy. I guess I’m a softie, but I always find it a bit bittersweet when they thank me then crawl back into the pipe.

Everything about Rapture is both beautiful and distressing. As you stumble around the shambles of the once grand city you get little insights into what life in Rapture was like before it went to hell. This coupled with the haunting music makes for a rather unsettling atmosphere and experience. One that I have never had playing any other game before.

I regret not playing BioShock earlier, I feel like I nearly missed out on something special had I not played it.Action packed with plenty of interesting characters and engaging stories with an ocean of chilling charm, BioShock is a one of a kind experience that I could not recommend any higher.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

