Posted in What Do We Know?

Nintendo Switch: What Do We Know?

switchzeldaFinally, Nintendo has finally released more info on their latest console!

Now, I was not one of the gamers who stayed up late to watch Nintendo’s live stream. I couldn’t, I had work in the morning. When I woke up, I was shocked. Once the initial shock died down I began researching about the Switch.

I was going to comment on how the Switch seems like a natural progression for Nintendo, as it seemed to combine the best elements of most of their consoles, but Shinya Takahashi took the words out of my mouth. Jokes aside, I’m pretty impressed with what the Switch is offering. I mean, just look at the titles they have already namedropped for it!

  • The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild 
  • 1-2 Switch
  • Mario Kart 8 Deluxe
  • ARMS 
  • Splatoon 2 
  • Super Mario Odyssey 
  • Xenoblade Chronicles 2
  • Fire Emblem Warriors
  • Dragon Quest X
  • Dragon Quest XI
  • Dragon Quest Heroes I & II
  • Untitled Shin Megami Tensei game
  • Project Octopath Traveler
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
  • Untitled No More Heroes sequel
  • FIFA

nintendo-switch-shot-02Before we go on, I have to voice a concern. Well, not really. Nintendo, why have you not made an official retail price for Europe? Nintendo says customers in Europe will need to contact their local retailers in order to figure out how much the console will cost in their region. Why?

The Switch will cost £279.99 here in the UK when it arrives on March 3rd. Which seems like a fair price to me, but I’m not going to get one. Not because I don’t want one, believe me, I do, but simply because I am broke. I’m sure you already know, but just to be safe, you can preorder it at Tesco, GAME and Amazon while stocks last.

I’m glad to see that for the most part, they have gotten rid of region locking. Also, they are jumping on the PS Plus and Xbox Live bandwagon. In Autumn they will release their own version which will allow players to use voice chat, online lobbies and receive a free NES or SNES game every month. I think that last part is primarily for older gamers, but I do think it is a good addition, though they have not said how much this will cost so it’s hard to say if it is worth considering or not.

Looking for any information I left out? Go to the Offical Switch Website. Also, what are your thoughts about the Switch? Let me know in the comments!

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

2 thoughts on “Nintendo Switch: What Do We Know?

  1. I honestly like the Switch and what it’s doing, barring pitiful battery life. My biggest concern about the games at launch. http://images.eurogamer.net/2017/articles/1/8/7/8/9/3/7/148432512992.jpg/EG11/resize/300x-1/quality/80/format/jpg
    Looking at this there is basically Breath of the Wild to look forward to and that’s not even a Switch exclusive. The console doesn’t seem worth while until Christmas rolls around and games are actually out for it. I really want this to do well but I do have to question who’s going to buy ARMS when it’s released post-launch when the game is basically a Wii Sports boxing game tech demo that will cost £40-ish. I just hope this does much better than I think it’s going to do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

