Posted in Confession

Confessions of a Rage Player

giphySince I have started playing Overwatch, I learned something about myself. I am a Rage Player.

I will put both hands in the air and admit that I have a bit of a temper and competitive games make it worse. While I am at it, I will admit that I am a sore loser. So, playing a hyper-competitive game might not be a smart move on my part.

Oh, and drinking a tonne of Mountain Dew before and during matching might be a factor. Even then, I only started drinking the stuff when I found the memes about it and now I am addicted.

giphy (11).gifBasically, when I play games, I lose my cool. It has gotten to the point that I now can’t play certain game titles when my family is in the house because I keep screaming at the top of my lungs because a sneaky Sombra killed me, AGAIN!

This isn’t anything particularly new. I have been doing this for a while. A few years ago I loved playing Team Fortress Two with my best friend over skype. I would get so caught up in the game I would lose control of my volume. I didn’t notice and I got louder and louder the longer I played. My father burst into the room screaming at me because he couldn’t hear his show because of me.

giphy-12Side note, I have Autism. I struggle to control the volume of my voice, especially when I am hyped up, angry or excited and I am often in at least one of those moods when I play games. I can’t even play Pokémon Go without yelling when I catch one. Oh, the amount of weird looks I get walking to work. Yeah, it’s a problem.

I take my anger out on video game characters. After a bad day at work, I like to run around in Saints Row 4 and smash the joint. Violence with no victims and it works a treat for getting rid of stress.

Back on Team Fortress Two for a second. While most of my excitement probably came from my competitive side taking over and my mate egging me on, it didn’t help that my laptop is terrible at running games and the wifi in my house is terrible. As much as I love TF2, the lag is unbearable so I don’t really play it anymore.

I think I do a lot better in games when I am angry, especially in Overwatch. After five losses I was raging, which gave me the edge and I won Play of the game twice in a row after that. Don’t believe me, ask my mates!

I take my anger out on video game characters. After a bad day at work, I run around in Saints Row 4 and smash the joint. After all, why spend money on anger management when you can slice up pixelated enemies instead?

Header art by Cas Burton

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

