Posted in Page Turner

Page Turner: Murder under the Christmas tree

treeWhile this is a time for good deeds, and goodwill to all men, that doesn’t mean there is no room for some good old murder!

Murder under the Christmas tree is a collection of ten short crime stories by a plethora of different writers, from Arthur Conan Doyle to Val McDermid.

My personal favourite story is Cinders, by Ian Rankin. The story is a murder mystery set during a panto. Like many of the stories in this collection, despite being short they are all pretty gripping. Cinders has an edge over the others for me because of my love of pantos.

I used to love short stories when I was younger but for some reason, I don’t read them a lot these days. However, after reading Murder under the Christmas tree I think I have gotten that appreciation back.

giphy-8Around this time of year, when it comes to movies and songs, the majority are upbeat and overly cheerful. It’s nice and all, but it gets a bit too much for me. That is probably why I like this book.

I feel like I need to thank Murder under the Christmas tree. Not only for making my commute to work less awful but for introducing me to authors I didn’t know about. I am definitely going to read some Ian Rankin and Ngaio Marsh in the new year.

If you are looking for a good festive book to get your teeth into, but have already read A Christmas Carol and don’t want a soppy Romance, then Murder under the Christmas tree is the book for you.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

