Posted in Steam Powered

Steam Powered: Party Hard

 

party-hard-bearIt is a miracle, my wallet survived the Steam Autumn Sale! I only bought one game, Party Hard.

Party Hard is an indie strategy game made by Kverta and  Pinokl Games. You play as a guy who just wants to get to bed, but those damn kids are making too much noise. Why call noise control when you could kill everyone partying?

The gameplay is a blast. If Hotline Miami and Hitman had a pixelated love child, you would be Party Hard. You need to be quick to get the kill and hide the body. Too slow, and someone will spot you and try to call the cops. Too slow to stop them, then you need to outrun the cop. Rinse and repeat until you kill everyone on the level.

Party Hard also has a Local Co-Op mode, but I haven’t had the chance to try it out since none of my friends have this game.

00ee373ef7c0b0d92b3fa4151b0ea89c2a7aa74d.gifDon’t think that this game is repetitive. Every time you play the game, the level layout gets reset. Unlike, say, Hitman, you can’t memorise where NPCs will go. Party Hard keeps you on your toes and, like I said earlier, you need to react quickly or it is game over for you.

Not to mention, there is four extra unlockable character each character has their own unique abilities. There are also (At the time of writing) two DLC levels, one for free and one for £3.99. I haven’t played those yet. I have already downloaded the free one, and I am going to play it soon.

I am a bit of an achievement hunter, so I have been trying so hard to get all 27 achievements. I have to say, the best-named one is called “Lol, Really?” which you get if you unlock all the achievements.

This might just be me, but this game is pretty stressful. I get so involved in a game that failures drive me up the wall. So in a game where you can lose in a matter of seconds, I lose my mind while playing Party Hard. This game is hardly a walk in a park, and it is so intense. While I do like this game, my blood pressure rises every time I start up this game.

Like I said at the start of this review, I got this game during the sales. It has since gone back to its original price of £9.99 but I got my copy while it was 50% off so I only paid £4.99. With that in mind, I thought it was a fair price for this game. However, I can’t really say that I would pay £9.99 for Party Hard.

Don’t get me wrong, this is a good game. If you want an intense, face paced game to play over this winter holiday, then Party Hard is the game for you. If you are looking for a calm, relaxing game to play on a frosty night by the fire, you might want to keep browsing Steam.

 

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

