Posted in Page Turner

Page Turner: Star Trek Novels

Well folks, Star Trek month coming to a close. So this will be my last Star Trek ramble for a wee while since Halloween is coming up this blog will be filled with Halloween tricks and treats so stay tuned to this frequency for that.

For the last ramble for Star Trek month, I decided to talk about something that the fandom seems to have, for the most part, looked over. The novels. There is an abundance of amazing Star Trek novels out there, and most are available on Kindle for only a couple of pounds. Maybe I’m just lucky but I keep finding Star Trek books in second-hand shops or charity shops.  It is baffling to me that these books don’t seem to get the recognition they deserve.

the_kobayashi_maru_novel

The one book that I have heard being name dropped is The Kobayashi Maru by Julia Ecklar. Don’t get me wrong, this is an extremely well-written book that deserves all the praise it gets. If you have been in the Star Trek community for a while then chances are you know what the Kobayashi Maru is. In this story, Kirk, Bones, Chekov, Sulu and Scotty are stuck drifting on a broken down shuttle with no means of communication or any way to fix it.

If you have been in the Star Trek community for a while then chances are you know what the Kobayashi Maru is. In this story, Kirk, Bones, Chekov, Sulu and Scotty are stuck drifting on a broken down shuttle with no means of communication or any way to fix it. They have only a few hours left to live, so the three command officers recount their experiences on the Kobayashi Maru training simulation.

This story gives us an interesting insight into the characters past and helps us see into their philosophies. After all, the whole reason command cadets take the test is to show Starfleet how they deal with a no-win scenario. This book is a must read.

After hearing about this novel several times, I finally got a copy. I was sucked in almost imminently. Julia Ecklar is an incredible wordsmith, and she has written several other Science Fiction novels. I recently found out that she teamed up with Karen Rose Cercone and Melissa Crandall and wrote several books under the shared pseudonym, L.A. Graf. The Kobayashi Maru is a must read.

188258.jpg

One of my personal favourite Star Trek novels is Windows on a Lost World by V. E. Mitchell. Admittedly the reason I love this book so much is because Chekov is one of the main characters in this adventure. In fact, the reason I bought this book when I found it at a second-hand shop was because Chekov is on the front cover. That and it was only £1.20 ($1.56). Money well spent.

The story is about Kirk and Chekov working with historians to discover the secrets hidden in the ruins of the forgotten planet Careta IV. While exploring they come across window like devices that lead them to a different world that they can’t escape. It is a race against time for Spock to save his crewmates before they disappear forever.

I can’t really say much about Windows on a Lost World because it is best experienced blind. However, I can say that it is a good read that I wholly enjoyed. I am glad I picked this book up, if I hadn’t I might have missed out on an interesting adventure with my favourite characters. Not to mention getting it rather cheaply was a nice bonus for me and my wallet.

I know that the two novels I have talked about are based on the original series, but there are countless books out there for all the different series. It does bother me that so many stories are being forgotten. These books need to be celebrated, not pushed to the side. If you are a Trekkie and a bookworm, consider reading some of these novels, you are bound to find a couple you enjoy.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

