Posted in review

Kubo and the Two Strings Review

kubo

I know I said I was only going to do Star Trek rambles this month, but this film has George Takei in it, does that count? Screw it, I need to talk about it asap.

Kubo and the Two Strings is the newest film by Laika, a studio which has made several beautiful movies that I love such as Coraline and Paranorman.

I am going to confess right now that I love stop motion movies. Heck, my favourite film of all time is The Nightmare Before Christmas. On top of that, I love Japanese music and art, so I had some pretty high expectations going into this film.

Just like Laika’s other films, the animation is incredible. They outdid themselves this time. Every little detail like strands of hair makes the characters feel real. The animation on the origami and the sisters are mesmerising. Not to mention the overall style of the film. Like I said, I love Japanese culture so it was a real treat to see a movie depict a historical Japanese world with magic. The music in this  movie is wonderful.

The story is pretty good too. While rather simple and somewhat predictable it kept its focus where it needed to be, on the characters. Kubo is a likeable character with a lot of inner strength and heart. His mother is a straight up badass. I won’t go into detail about her as it will spoil some major plot points. Beetle and Monkey are also great characters, but again, if I say any more I might give away spoilers. Even the villagers get a couple of good lines. The only disappointing character is the Moon King who is the main villain of the story. The sisters are way more interesting compared to the Moon King. The ending is rather weak, at least in my opinion. That being said, it wasn’t a dealbreaker for me.

tumblr_inline_ocjmiaXqBN1r7ik8s_500.gif

Overall, Kubo and the Two Strings is a good film  that I recommend. It has a lot of heart as well as a fair bit of action.Kubo’s story is rather emotional, I cried at multiple scenes. Then again, I cried three times when I first saw Big Hero Six. I cry easily. Still, If you haven’t seen it yet, you should give it a go. The animation alone is worth the price of a ticket.

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

