Posted in Feature

Star Trek, the 50-year mission

 

tosAs of today, Star Trek is 50 years old.

Star Trek changed the world fo Science Fiction forever once it hit the airwaves. On top of that, it took  on issues of race, gender and religion at a time when America was facing intense inter-related cultural and political trends.

It went boldly where now show had gone before. Now we have that obligatory joke out of the way, lets move on.

Take my favourite character, Chekov. He was created for the show in the second series, at the height of the cold war. Gene Roddenberry wanted to show what a utopian society where everyone was recognised for their skills would be like, so to prove that Russians are regular people at a time where RATHER DEAD THAN RED propaganda was everywhere, he created an ambassador for Russian people. That, and he wanted a character with a Beatles haircut to attract teenage girls to the show. Chekov ticked both of the boxes.

giphy-4

I could praise this series all day long for the influence it had on race and gender politics. But that isn’t the real reason why us Trekkies love this franchise, now is it? Nope, the reason this series has stood the test of time is because of the charming characters.

What would Star Trek be without the logical Spock, the deadpan humour of The Doctor or the unpredictable Q?

Star Trek has a plethora of unique characters, you are sure to find at least one that will steal your heart. Not to mention the chemistry and relationship dynamics between characters. The banter game is strong.

I have to take this ramble in a more personal route, I apologise if you are not interested but my blog, my rules.

tumblr_o9wjtiwaKK1tifikbo2_250.gif

I adore Star Trek, I often joke that things I love ruin my life yet in Star Trek‘s case it is the opposite. Star Trek has motivated me through some tough times in my life. As someone with Autism I can relate to Spock a lot, so much so that at one point I tried to live my live following the Vulcan philosophy. Needless to say, it didn’t work. I am way too emotional. However I meditate, always try to find the logical solution and often ask myself “what would Spock do?” Lame, I know, but it has helped me out of some tricky situations.

My favourite in the franchise is the original series, partly for the drama and social commentary and partly for the campy humour. For crying out loud, they put a dog in a costume and called it an alien, how can you not find that hilarious? Not to mention the tribbles, if tribbles are involved you are in for a good time. Even William Shatner can’t help but laugh, he is trying so hard not to crack up in the scene where he is in a pile of fluff and getting hit in the face.

giphy (5).gif

Being serious for a moment, if it wasn’t for Star Trek chances are I would not be here today. It has given me hope when I needed it the most. This must sound so tacky but it is true. The show continues to inspire me to this day. For that, I will always be grateful. Here is to you, Star Trek. Happy 50th birthday, let us see what the next 50 years have in store!

If you will excuse me, I have some Star Trek drinking games to play!

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

