Posted in Mentionable Manga

Mentionable Manga: Real Account

 

147381.jpg
I think it goes without saying, but this manga gets pretty graphic at times

With the abundance of manga available it is easy for some gems to go unnoticed. Its a shame, so I have decided to do something about this. I am now adding a new feature on to the growing roster here on Nerd Rambles, Mentionable Manga.

Yes, I know the name sucks. If you have a better idea let me know, please! Anyway, on to this interesting manga I found recently, Real Account.

Real Account is about a social media app called Real Account, which is more or less the love child between Facebook and Twitter. Except one day Real Account users are pulled into a battle royale fight to the death inside Real Account.

Players, as they are called, are forced to play games in order to survive. Games that reveal personal information to the world, and we aren’t talking photos of you in a drunken daze vomiting. Hidden pasts and online sins are shown to the world. Did I mention that these games are aired live nationwide?

To top it off, they aren’t just playing for their lives but the lives of their followers. If a player dies, so do all of their followers and if a player loses all of their followers the player will die.

And you thought spambots and your grandparents commenting on your posts were bad.

This manga has so many twists and turns that I have suffered from mental whiplash. Since I have a no spoilers policy I can’t go into a lot of detail regarding the characters. All I can say, is that most of the characters are more than meets the eye.

marble_61214
Does this look like the face of mercy to you?

When I started reading Real Account I thought it was going to be a ‘fight the power, fight to survive’ story which has almost become its own genre. Oh boy, was I wrong. Just when you think you have figured everything out the story pulls the rug from under you and starts throwing more twists your way.

Be warned though, this manga is not for the faint-hearted. With violence, gore, torture both physical and mental with a dash of incest (gross, I know) do not read this manga lightly. I somewhat regret reading Real Account as it is one of the most mess up things I have read in a while, but I am hooked. I can’t stop reading it.

Just remember, when you get embarrassed by our family on Facebook, or your friend posts a unflattering photo of you on Instagram, be thankful that you aren’t stuck inside Real Account.

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

