Posted in review

Star Trek Beyond Review

2_-_pvh2az1Just to put this out there, no one told me that there was nothing at the end of the credits. I’m way too used to waiting for the credits to end thanks to Marvel movies. I didn’t want to risk missing anything so I forced my little sister to wait with me. Needless to say, she was angry that I wasted her time. She attacked me with her water bottle. I can’t say I blame her. Hell have no fury like a angry Glaswegian sister.

Glad to get that off my chest, now on to the review.

I feel that the Star Trek fandom has always been a bit divided. Everyone has their favourite series (original for the win!) and with the internet being the internet, things sometimes escalate quickly. Thing is, the AOS or reboot series of movies seem to get more hate than any other series in the franchise. Is is deserved? I don’t think so. After all, the original series is my personal favourite but I love AOS as well.

tumblr_nzef3gKVz71tx97ono1_500

I bring this up as one of the biggest complaints I have heard of AOS is the fact that it is the least Star Trek like. I can see where people are coming from when they say that, JJ Abrams himself has stated that he prefers Star Wars which you can really see in the second film. Even though I like that film, I was half expecting a light saber battle when Khan and Spock had a punch up.

I am pleased to report that Star Trek Beyond is tried and true Star Trek. It has that Star Trek wit and charm that the first two films lacked. It has the same heart and reminds me of the original, right down to the banter. This film, in my humble opinion, is great. It delivers where the previous two films had failed. There is less action, more character development and no lens flairs! We also get to see a bit more of the crew this time around, which helps with the world building. Bonus, the references feel way more natural than in the previous films.

The way they address Leonard Nimoy’s passing was well done, it honestly made me tear up a little. There were other little tweaks here and there that I was glad to see. For example the female uniform now shows rank, the villain felt like a proper Star Trek villain and the fan-service was limited just to references which even then, like I said, fit more naturally.

Jaylah_and_scott

I know we will probably not see her again, but I love Jaylah. When I saw her for the first time in the trailers I was worried that she was going to be a ‘strong independent woman’ with little character outside of being a badass. Call me a cynic, but that trope annoys me more than the damsel in distress trope since damsel characters often have more personality and are likable enough that you want to see them get saved. I’m glad to say I was wrong about Jaylah. She is an interesting and likable character who also gets a few laughs. She does fight, but the way she does it is rather creative. Plus, the interactions she has with Scotty is adorable. Jaylah might appear in the IDW comics, at least I hope so!

If you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend it! Even if you are not a fan of the first two movies, give it a try.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

