Posted in Confession

Confessions of a film snob

giphy (7).gif

No doubt about it, I am a film snob. I am not proud of it.

I have to admit, I take a lot of fun out of watching movies. Particularly with family. I am that annoying person who keeps pointing out problems with logic (Spock would be proud), talks over the film about how the scene was short or god help you if you are watching a film based on a book with me, I will point out each and every change from the original.

I guess I’m not as bad as some of my family members, as I only do this when watching something at home. My Dad on the other hand has fallen asleep in the cinema on multiple occasions. My Grandfather, Mum and I went to go see Skyfall and my Grandfather kept asking me questions… DURING THE OPENING CREDITS! It confused him so much, but he has a loud voice so I felt really awkward. My mum tried to tell him to shut up, but I was stuck between the two of them. Yay.

tumblr_inline_n2i5mnjIwv1qg7khw

I cry way too easy. I cried no less than three times when I saw Big Hero Six. How to train your Dragon also made me cry my eyes out. I have lost count of how many times I have cried watching Star Trek movies. More recently I cried when R2-D2 reactivated in The force awakens. My Mum is still in denial about Han Solo. She is convinced that he lived.

I really don’t like watching movies with my family. Let me tell you, watching Deadpool with your little sister is really awkward. Nine times out of ten Dad will fall asleep exactly halfway through the film.

Also, my Mum picks the worst films. She demanded that we all watch a film called Hanna because, and I quote, “It’s a teen spy film! Like James Bond!” which it most certainly was not. It’s a good film, don’t get me wrong, but not exactly family entertainment like Mum claimed. The word I would use to describe Hanna is distressing.

giphy (8).gif

I hate romantic films and Rom-Coms. There are some exceptions but for the most part I avoid them like the plague. I find them to so formulaic that you know exactly what is going to happen before it even starts. Oh wow, these two seem to hate each other with a burning passion. I wonder if they will overcome their differences and fall in love. With the exception of Legally Blonde, Mean Girls and John Tucker must die I hate chick flicks for the above reason. 

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

