Posted in Feature

Vexing video games

One thing I love about gaming is that there is a wide selection of games out there. But there are some games and game franchisees that make no sense to me. Not necessarily the games themselves but rather why they are popular.

Could anyone explain why these games are popular?

picgifs-call-of-duty-black-ops-6124740

  • The Call of Duty series

This is low on the list as Call of Duty has been under fire from the gaming community for some time now.

The main argument against the series is that they just make the same game over and over again, which is true. Is the new one set in space or something? I don’t even care at this point. If you like COD so much, just keep replaying it. That would save you a lot of money.

FIFA-Glitch

  • FIFA/Madden NFLM 

I really don’t see the appeal of sport games. If you want to play football, then go outside and play football!

I know I sound like a grumpy old man, but I am sure you can see what I mean. Games give us the ability to do things that we can’t in real life. From saving the world from supervillans to creating anything we can imagine. So I don’t get why sport games are popular. You can play sport in real life!

tumblr_nt38cqEkJE1teto02o2_540

  • Star Wars Battlefront

You might call me out for bias, because I am a Trekkie.

However, I know a cash-grab game when I see one. Sure, the graphics are nice but I am sure that there is more to games than being pretty. Just look at Undertale, an 8-bit game with interesting characters and great puzzle and choice gameplay. Star Wars Battlefront has none of that.

In my opinion.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

