Posted in Steam Powered

Steam Powered: Hustle Cat

Man, it has been a while since I last did a Steam Powered.

Let me start off by saying that I am not exactly a fan of dating sims. I have never really seen the appeal, however I know that they do have a rather big fanbase. Not to mention the thousands of dating sim walkthroughs on YouTube.

However, when I stumbled on Hustle Cat on Steam it peaked my interest. Mostly because it gave you the option to use Them/They pronouns and date everyone regardless of gender. Like I said, I don’t really keep up to date with the world of dating sims, however I have never heard of one that lets you use Them/They pronouns. If I am wrong, let me know. As someone who is Non Binary, I was quite happy to hear this.

tumblr_n8gduyaVm31sbuf5oo1_500
Hayes here is my favourite

I scrolled down to see what the feedback was, only to find glowing reviews. I figured, why not, and so I bought the game.

You play as Avery Gray, you can pick Avery’s look and gender from Male, Female and Non Binary. Your average dull life takes a turn when you get hired at A Cat’s Paw, a cat cafe. Needless to say, there is more than meets the eye when it comes to this cafe. Or rather, the staff  who are a cast of interesting characters.

If I had to describe Hustle Cat in one word, it would be adorable.                                                                                               Everything about this game is adorable, from the art to the story itself. Yes, this dating sim actually has a well thought out and interesting story. On my first playthrough I was shocked at the sudden turn of tone. No spoilers, but I was impressed.

Speaking of spoilers, this game is best experienced blind. For that reason I won’t go into to much detail. Because of that, I’m not sure what else I should say about this game.

tumblr_n83homJ07C1sbuf5oo1_500

The game is sweet and rather witty. Most of the jokes in this game hit bullseye. One thing I do like is that, from the few dating sims I have played, you get locked into a route real quick and the correct answers are way too easy to spot. It’s almost like there is a giant PICK ME sign on them. However, this isn’t the case in Hustle Cat, instead there is a bonus system and there are bad endings.

The best element is the characters in this game, on top of that the dialogue. This might sound odd, but the way the dialogue is written not only gives the characters well rounded personalities, but they feel real. Some games include dialogue that no one would ever say, but here it feels perfectly natural.

Be warned, this game is an emotional roller coaster. I’m not going to lie, I cried while playing this game.

If you are in the mood for a funny, cute game with lovable characters and a great story then Hustle Cat is the game for you.

Hustle Cat is available on Steam for £14.99

 

 

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

