Posted in top five

Top Five anime I will never watch

giphy.gif

When it comes to entertainment, we often judge what we want to see and what we don’t want to subject ourselves to. This is often due to directors we don’t like, annoying actors or sometimes just the freaky fandom surrounding said entertainment.

For me, there are some anime that I have actively avoided for different reasons. I figured I might as well get this off my chest by telling the internet the Top Five anime I will never watch.

Just a disclaimer, I am not saying that these anime are bad. They might even be, in your opinion, the best anime ever made. So don’t get mad at me, this is just my opinion.

  • Code Geass

2h6gb9f-1.gif

Okay, this one only made the list due to spoilers. I had the whole show spoiled for me so there isn’t any point watching it now.

This is the only anime I regret not watching, from what I keep hearing that it is a really good anime, but thanks to the internet and its spoilers I wont be able to properly enjoy this anime. Thanks a bunch, internet!

 

  • JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure

JosephMagicTrick

This has to be the pettiest excuse on this list, but the art style is a bit… how to put this… creepy. Something about the character design is unsettling to me. I think it’s down to the proportions and the details.

That is the only real reason. I know how pathetic it is, and I have no excuse.

That is my honest reason. I wish I had a better one, but I don’t.

 

  • Deadman Wonderland

tumblr_n23d2bzvA71spfqkdo1_500

Hype.

Okay, I’ll elaborate.

When this show came out, there was so much hype surrounding it. If there is one thing that puts me of anything, it is hype.

The hype has since died down, but something about the show is rubbing me the wrong way. Unlike other entries on this list, I don’t really know what it is. After all, from what I have seen the animation is great, the action is tence and apparently the characters are not too bad either. So why don’t I want to watch it? I don’t quite know.

  • Azumanga Daioh

1339782283400.gif

Slice of life anime can be a real hit or miss for me. Azumanga Daioh, from what I’ve heard doesn’t seem like my cup of tea. Something about the clips I’ve seen and the reviews I’ve read give me the impression that I would find this anime, well, rather dull.

This might just be me, but the animation looks really flat. I know that is kinda odd for me to say, but I don’t know what else I should say.

  • Sword Art Online

giphy (1)

This anime. Or rather, the fandom. I have never seen such a passionate fandom since Bronies. That is the main problem I have with this anime. The fans are crazy, and not the cute kind of crazy. Rather the ‘if you don’t agree with me, you must be a HATER!’ type of crazy.

I have been told by numerous people that the anime itself isn’t that good. Some have gone so far as saying that it is one of the worst animes in recent history. Yikes!

That, and I am a big Log Horizon fan. From what I have heard, SAO isn’t as good as Log Horizon. I guess it would be like having a three course meal in a five star restaurant one night, then going to MacDonalds the night after. Sorry, SAO fans. Please don’t hate me.

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

5 thoughts on “Top Five anime I will never watch

  1. There’s definitely some anime I won’t watch because I find the characters creepy. I’be also delayed watching anime because of hype. Spoilers I don’t worry about because I think how the anime gets to that conclusion is more important than the conclusion.

    Like

  2. I really hate when things get over-hyped, makes me not want to watch the series anymore like SNK. But Deadman Wonderland is actually really good, I would recommend reading the manga rather than watching the anime – there’s a lot more detail in the manga.

    Like

  3. That is what put me off Code geass as well for a while but I will tell watch it and you won’t regret it. However I can’t really say much since I am putting of Death Note for the same reason

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never interacted with SAO fans but the show itself was enough to put me off. I can’t stand animes that pander to straight male fantasies and overused cliches/tropes. That’s what made SAO so disappointing. It had such great potential then decided to ruin it with deplorable writing and fanservice. I’ve heard good things about Log Horizon, though, and have been wanting to give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. …I am actually very guilty of avoiding anime and manga only because of my standards concerning art styles. #NoShame
    I never watched any of these five anime since the first four just did not appeal to my very specific tastes and SAO not only looks like it has terrible portrayals of female characters, but also seems to be more hype than actual merit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

