Posted in Top Five List

Top Five pitiful anime characters

Anime has a wide array of characters, from brave and heroic to weak but sweet. Then you have characters that the universe seems to despise, despite the fact they did nothing wrong. Today, we are going to count down the Top Five most pitiful characters in anime.

Only one rule applies here, that only one character per franchise can be in the list. Otherwise I might put most of Osomatsu san‘s characters here. Also, this is my opinion, if you don’t see someone you think should be on this list, tell me in the comments.

tumblr_mpq609M5Xe1rh9eaqo4_250.gif

  • Tomoko Kuroki from Watamote

She gets a spot for being the most relatable out of the rest of the characters I’ve chosen, with one personal exception.

Good god, the girl tries her hardest to be normal and every time he tries the universe seems to enjoy torturing her.

I can relate quite a bit to her, not understanding social conventions and cues, Paranoid about what people think of me and struggling to communicate with other people.

There is only one character I relate more too on this list, but Tomoko is a pretty close second.

giphy

  • Yuzuru Otonashi from Angel Beats

I seriously regret watching this show, it’s a good show, don’t get me wrong. But I cried so much.

I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but Otonashi has a rather upsetting backstory and the ending was heart breaking (In more ways than one) .

tumblr_nf3jtl3GSF1tjrgk5o1_500

  • Hinami Fueguchi from Tokyo Ghoul

Just saying this now, I have only seen season one of Tokyo Ghoul. There, now that’s out the way.

I was going to give this spot to the protagonist Kaneki Ken, and while I feel terrible for him, Hinami had it way worse. Hinami saw her mother killed right in front of her, and then thought she smelled her family so she ran right into a trap. In which her own parents body parts were used as weapons against her. Bear in mind, she is just a child. That is seriously messed up.

I want to hug her so bad. Poor girl.

tumblr_inline_o1wnl01Ef71tcwpyd_500

  • Crona from Soul Eater

Not going to say that much about Crona, as chances are you know exactly who they are and why he made it on the list.

If you don’t. Lets just say he has mummy issues.

 

Episode_5a_Infobox_Photo

  • Karamatsu Matusno from Osomatsu San

Okay, here me out on this one.

The rest of these characters have people there to help them, but Kara? Not so lucky. His own brothers hate him. To the point he gets kidnapped and they don’t help him. In fact, Ichimatsu celebrates. Later on, he get tied up and set on fire in front of his house, what do his brothers do? Throw pots and pans at him, knocking him out and then they go back to sleep. In the next episode he doesn’t appear until the end, ignored while injured.

His brothers refer to him as Shittymatsu, insult him on a daily basis and even question why he was ever born. Ouch. The saddest part? He would do anything for his brothers, and has proved this on several occasions, even calling Osomatsu out.

tumblr_nxoafkbs7y1u15zxgo1_500

 

I may sound weird for this, but I relate to him on an almost spiritual level. I used to be just like him. Trying way hard to be cool and failing so miserably. Heck, I still am just like him. I still try way to hard and end up annoying people.

 

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

4 thoughts on “Top Five pitiful anime characters

  1. Just reading this list made me remember all the horrible things that have happened to these characters, but also some really excellent anime. Thanks so much for sharing these. You could seriously add the entire cast of Angel Beats to the list. I also cried a lot while watching this anime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

