Posted in New Obsession

New Obsession: Osomatsu-San

 

tumblr_nzb6quM0c51v0jxj1o1_1280

This anime. Oh boy, this anime.                         Like most of my obsessions stumbled on to some fanart for an anime I hadn’t heard of. Since I have a Crunchyroll account I ended up finding the anime in question, a comedy anime called Osomatsu-San. I have this habit of watching anime when I am at the gym and decided to watch this during my work out.

Next thing I knew, I had become hooked. So much so that on that weekend I cosplayed as Karamatsu for the opening of Tokyo Toys. Fun as it was, I regretted my decision pretty early on. I mean, who wears a leather jacket and sunglasses in Scotland? Idiots like yours truly. Not to mention today was really cold and I was in the shade for pretty much the whole day.

tumblr_o0c9ji7VIf1v0jxj1o1_1280The show was made to commemorate the 80th birthday of the late creator of this shows predecessor, Osomatsu-Kun. Osomatsu-San revolves around the Matsuno sextuplets; Osomatsu, Karamatsu, Choromatsu, Ichimatsu, Juushimatsu and Todamatsu. Each of these characters are hysterical in their own way. My personal favourites are the wannabe Karamatsu and cynical Ichimatsu.

Osomatsu-San’s strength is the characters. In particular the interactions between the siblings. As I have mentioned in previous rambles I have a younger sister, so I can relate to a lot of the sibling antics that happen. If you have a sibling, you will love this anime to pieces. I have been trying to get my sister to watch it, but she doesn’t like anime so I’m fighting an uphill battle.

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_1buekhdm63hcggokgcw8csc0o_640

 

This anime is the funniest anime I have seen in a long time. Sure, I have laughed here and there watching other shows, but Osomatsu-San made me laugh so hard at the gym I got told off by one of the personal trainers. The comedy in this anime is absolutely brutal at times, particularly with Karamatsu. The universe seems to hate him. Part of me feels bad, the other part is rolling on the ground laughing.

Another reason that I love this show is that it isn’t just comedy, there are some real heart-breaking moments. At time of writing, I’m on episode 12 and I have been warned that there are quite a few heart-breaking moments coming up.

tumblr_o16262YFVL1qdz4d7o1_500 (1)

 

This show is also makes a lot of parodies. Particularly in the first episode, because of that the first episode has been removed from Crunchyroll and the Japanese Blu-ray. Needless to say that it can be found on YouTube. Every moment of that episode is parody perfection. From Haikyuu to Sailor Moon, nothing is safe.

I don’t get why this anime hasn’t gotten more attention. The last episode aired just last month, and only three people I talked to at the event knew about it. Seriously, people! This anime is fantastic. Even if you aren’t an anime fan, please check it out. Filled with Japanese culture, sibling shenanigans and creative comedy this show is a gem.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basiclly, your typical geek (although she perferes the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

