Posted in Uncategorized

Buried by books

Consider this a follow-up of sorts to my light novel ramble.

I have always been a bit of a bookworm, particularly when I was younger. In primary school my classmates got in trouble for doodling in their jotters or talking in class. Me? I got in trouble for reading in the back of class.

Since high school, I found new interests including anime and gaming so I began to read less and less. My mum to this day says I have lost a lot of my vocab over the years because I don’t read as much as I used to.

tumblr_o14lftvOZc1tzv1dpo1_500

For the last two years, I have gotten back into the swig of reading. While my parents are glad to see me reading more, my bank account isn’t. You see, while some people are addicted to gambling or clothes shopping, I’m addicted to buying books. doesn’t matter what format its in. whether it’s a manga, a light novel, a comic or a regular book. I often buy at least one a day.

Not only is this damaging my wallet, but also my room. The title isn’t an exaggeration. I have books piling on every available surface in my room. I have tripped over books five times this week. In fact just yesterday I was cleaning and I pulled on a t-shirt which caused books to fall down and smack me right in the face.

page-turning-book-animation-2

My book “storage” technique is to pile them all up in a tower formation. It works… until you need to get a book near the middle or bottom. I am that friend that constantly lets friends borrow books or gives older books away to friends. nine times out of ten I promise to bring the book and said book is always near the bottom. It this the most terrifying game of Jenga you will ever play. I own a lot of hardbacks and have had hardbacks hit the back of my head. I am convinced I am going to be killed by falling books.

The most annoying part about this is that I often buy books, knowing full well I will never read them. I would say that out of all the books I own, I have only read about half of them. I either start a book and never pick it up again, or never even open the book at all.Someone please tell me I’m not the only one who does this.

tumblr_static_bhulaolin604so4coc8cscw08

I hate myself for doing this, but I can’t stop. It is an addiction I need to end, but I cant. I have the same problem with games and DVDs, but its a lot worse with books. I organize my game cases and DVDs like I am organizing my own library. Books on the other hand, its a free for all.

I really need to sort out my book problem, but I don’t know how. If anyone had any advice, please let me know.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

