Posted in Editorial

Pokémania

With Pokémon’s 20th anniversary yesterday, I have fallen back into pokémania. I spent most of yesterday rewatching the anime and belting out the theme song, much to the annoyance of my family.

Needless to say, I can’t wait for the new game! Shame, since it looks like I have a lot of waiting to do. Still, give me time to replay my old Pokémon games. Since the leak a few days back I have been trying not to get swept up in the nostalgia fest that is Pokémon but as you can tell, I failed. Can you blame me? It’s Pokémon! For me, it was one of the first proper video games I played. Even now I am still addicted to it.

I got into Pokémon back in my first year of high school. Up until then I wasn’t much of a gamer. Sure, I played the Sims and some assorted games when I went to my cousin’s house but that was about it. I was 12 when I went to the hell that was my high school, and despite being bullied for being geeky, I only became geekier over the years. To the point that I only own three or four non nerdy tops, the rest are all t-shirts my mum hates.

Enough stories of Pokémon from the past, let’s look to see what’s coming up in the world of Pokémon.

tumblr_m7xnrnzicQ1rz5t4oo1_500

First up, Detective Pikachu-Birth of a New Combination. This is perhaps one of the weirder Pokémon games, as you play as a young boy named Tim Goodman who teams up with a talking Detective Pikachu to find his dad. I personally hope this game gets a Europe release but at time of writing, the game was released at the start of this month but no other release dates have been announced.

I wanted to talk about Sun and Moon, but what is there to say? All we know at the moment is the logo design and that it’s coming out later in the year. That’s it. There is a lot of speculation floating around but very little has been confirmed. Chances are we will learn more about the games nearer the release. Oh, and it turns out Pokémon Z isn’t a thing.

12802760_785034424973743_7750815928206679059_n

Also coming out this year is a new Pokémon movie. This will be the 20th Pokémon movie, which is rather fitting. The feature a new Pokémon called Magearna, which is a man made Pokémon built 500 years ago. Since I have stopped watching the show for a while I don’t think I’ll watch this movie, but the idea behind Magearna is pretty interesting. It is unclear if Magearna is going to be in the new game or if it is a oneshot character. Only time will tell.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

