Posted in New Obsession

New Obsession: Final Fantasy XIV (14)

I have been on a roll with delivering confessions lately, so here’s another one.

Up until I got this game, I had never played a Final Fantasy game. I knew the characters and the basics, but I hadn’t played the games – partly because I have only recently gotten “proper” gaming consoles.

I often find new games and anime thanks to my friend’s recommendations; one friend in particular has often recommended things to me that I become obsessed with. From Naruto to Team Fortress 2, she always gives me good recommendations. So when she told me I had to play Final Fantasy XIV, I got the game as soon as I could. Thing is, this game is too good, and it’s ruining my life.

tumblr_mzplt2LfjC1tqp96no1_500

 

 

 

Since I don’t often play MMORPGs (the last one I played was Star Wars: The Old Republic), I thought that it would take a while for me to get into the game. I played it for a little bit and then didn’t play it for the rest of the month, wasting the free trial month. Dumb move, I know.

The second time I played it, I played for six hours. Yeah. I got hooked. For the last three hours I kept telling myself “just one more quest”, but as you can guess that didn’t happen. I only stopped because I was fighting to keep my eyes open.

gWMJk

 

This game is so addicting. Maybe it’s the simple but engaging gameplay, or how you feel like you are accomplishing so much. I swear, I always feel so proud of myself when I level up. Not to mention my character is so damn adorable! As much as I like games with a set protagonist, it is so much more fun when you create your own character. That is one of the reasons I prefer Saints Row to Grand Theft Auto. Sorry, I’m getting side-tracked again. My FFXIV character is a Miqo’te lancer and, like I said, she is freaking adorable!

As much as I enjoy the game, it’s not without its faults. For instance, the controls are confusing, and it is lacking in tutorials. Since my laptop can barely handle Danganronpa, there is no way I can play something like this on it. So I got the PS4 version. For the most part, it makes the transition well. However, there are some bits which don’t work so well. In particular, the text feature. I have been playing for a while and I still struggle to talk to the free company I joined. Not to mention I have no idea how I joined it in the first place – it just happened.

tumblr_mszcc2ZOXJ1rruop4o1_500

However, I don’t really mind these faults, as the game is so much fun. Even as someone who doesn’t know much about Final Fantasy, I really enjoy it. However, be warned. It is really addicting, and will take up all your free time. Or in my case, your free time and study time. I think I might need help.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

