Posted in Editorial

Confessions of a dub lover

Within every aspect of society, there are snobs. It’s the same in every part of nerd culture: in gaming it’s the PC Master Race, in cosplay circles there are some who see themselves as superior because they make more of their cosplay than others, and “true” anime fans only watch subs. The latter is what I’m going to discuss today. For those of you who aren’t in the anime scene, there are two options when choosing how to watch an anime – either in Japanese with English subtitles, or dubbed in English.

For me, as you can guess from the title, I’m in the dub camp. I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but yes. I love dubbed anime more than subbed. Who cares, right? Well, apparently I’m not watching anime correctly. According to other anime fans, that is. On a couple of occasions, I have been told I’m not a true anime fan because I prefer dubs. The Sub Master Race takes no prisoners.

tumblr_n3sm23svCZ1qadqfco3_500

The biggest argument for sub superiority is that it is much closer to the original anime and its intentions. This is true, but if I am given the option to watch the show in Japanese or English nine times out of ten I go with the dub. It’s not because I am too lazy to read the subtitles, I just prefer dub.

Now yes, there are some dubs that completely suck. I know that – but there are also some great dubs such as Hetalia, Death Note, Panty and Stocking, and Noragami. I don’t know what people mean when they say that subs are always better, because it’s more like 50/50 to me. With great companies like FUNimation doing great voice acting and producing dubs such as three of the four aforementioned anime, I don’t understand why there is so much dub hate. It’s pretty much a meme at this point.

dubsorsubs

Ronaldo is right. Why do we fight about this? It’s kind of a waste of time. With all the time people waste debating the merits of both of these options, we forget that they are just that: options. There is no right or wrong way to watch anime, just like there is no right or wrong way to watch a Western TV show. It’s all a matter of personal preference. Does it really make a difference to you if you watch Future Diary dubbed and someone else enjoys it when it’s subbed? Seriously, who cares?

After all, there is something that we can all agree on: anime is awesome.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

