Posted in review

Deadpool Review

If you are looking for an unbiased and sensible review, I’m sorry you are on the wrong review site. I normally do my best to keep my personal views separate from my view on the movie, but I can’t this time around. Why? Because it’ Deadpool!

Deadpool is one of my favourite Marvel characters because he is just a joy to read. True, some of his stories are less comedic than others or can be downright depressing but that just goes to show how interesting a character he is. Take Superman, no matter what you try to do with this character most of the time he is rather one note. Not the case with Deadpool, but I’m sure you know that by now.

giphy.gif

No spoilers in this review, relax. Let’s start off with the bad parts. The story is rather generic as you might have guessed from the trailers… that’s about it. That is honestly the only bad element of this movie, and even at that it’s more of a nitpick. You don’t watch a movie like this for the story, you watch it for the characters.

On to the good. Pretty much every other element of this movie is brilliant. From the best opening credits I have ever seen to the hysterical after credit scene this film is the most enjoyable film I have seen in ages. I’m going to confess something, I don’t like the Avengers movies as well as the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I don’t hate them, but they aren’t really pushing any boundaries nor doing anything really inventive. Deadpool on the other hand has everything a superhero, or antihero movie should have. I love this film so much! There is more than just comedy in this film, it is actually quite gripping at times. Also the fight scenes are some of the best I’ve ever seen.

tumblr_mo07u2Dwjo1qml236o1_500.gif

Deadpool is here in all of his glory, as we have already seen in all the trailers, but he’s not the only Marvel character who gets the portrayal they deserve. Colossus shines in this film. He is such a cinnamon roll, I just want to hug him! He is such a gentleman and seems to be like a big brother figure to Negasonic Teenage Warhead. Like I said, no spoilers, but I hope we get to see more of him like this. Negasonic Teenage Warhead is a likeable character too. I will admit I hadn’t heard of her before, but after seeing the movie I am going to find out more about her. However, the one character I was so hyped to see was Blind Al, who is one of my favourite characters from the Deadpool comics. I am pleased to say she makes the transition from comic page to movie screen quite well.

If you haven’t seen this movie, GO SEE IT NOW!

 

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

