Posted in New Obsession

New Obsession: Pocket Mortys

With the next season of Rick and Morty coming out in 2017 I have been suffering with withdrawal. How dare Adult Swim make an incredible show only to tell us the next season will come out in a year and a half! Adult Swim isn’t too heartless though, as they recently released a mobile game called Pocket Mortys. Good news, the game is a lot of fun and is just the thing to fill the void. Bad news, I’m addicted.

Pocket-mortys

It’s becoming a problem, as I waste so much time playing it. I even missed my train because I was playing it with headphones and the train left the second I tore my eyes off the screen. The only thing that stops me from playing it 24/7 is my phone dying. Thank god this game isn’t pay to win, otherwise I might have ended up in debt.

The game itself is more or less a parody of Pokémon, as you might have guessed from the title. I am genuinely surprised Nintendo hasn’t sued Adult Swim over the game. You play as Rick and travel around different dimensions to battle other Ricks with Mortys. There are so many different types of Mortys to catch, and the gameplay is fun. What a ground-breaking idea, a spinoff game that is fun! A mobile spinoff game at that!

pocket-mortys-mortys-deck

Ok, I’m exaggerating. It is a blast to play but it’s not revolutionary by any means. It’s a great time killer but it’s not game of the year.

The game is filled with references and Rick and Mortys signature charm and wit. I struggle to put it down. If you are a fan of the Alcoholic genius and his naive grandson, download this game. You won’t regret it.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

