Posted in New Obsession

New Obsession: Saints Row

Sorry this is a day late, and yes I know, I’m late to the party but this game has taken over my life. Well, technically games. But these games have brought me so much joy.

A while ago I got my hands on Saints Row the Third and Saints Row IV but it’s only recently that I have really gotten into them. I’m still playing Saints Row IV at the moment, and loving every minute of it! Name one other game in which you can beat up people with a giant floppy purple dildo, I challenge you! Or how about a DLC that features a musical scene in hell? Oh, what about a game that uses dubstep as a weapon?

For those of you who aren’t familiar to the game, basically think Grand Theft Auto with more over the top characters and less realism. The game pretty much gives the middle finger to reality, particularly in the fourth game in which you get superpowers. As well as the previously mentioned dildo bat. In my opinion Saints row is so much better than GTA as there is less restrictions and more creativity. Not to mention the characters are way more compeling in Saints row. Matt Miller is my personal favourite. Seriously, how can you not love that dork?

The games are so much fun and it is almost impossible to not get sucked into the crazy world and its lack of sense and logic. It makes for a good distraction when the college work and stress is adding up, but perhaps a bit too well as I spend so much time playing the game I often forget about work due the next day until I wake up the next morning. That’s always a fun experience, isn’t it? Story of my life, right there.

tumblr_n7u33aNYkd1qcxzu2o2_500.gif
That moment when you realize you forgot that test because you were gaming all week

What I don’t think a lot of people give the game credit for is despite all appearances it’s a rather intelligent game series, as well as pretty equal opportunity. Let me explain. Unlike other games (too numerous to mention) If you play as a female character you are pretty much guaranteed to only be able to equip revealing armour. Saints row doesn’t do that. In fact, if you play as a male or female makes no impact in the game. Women can wear male items and men can wear dresses. In the fourth game no matter your gender you can romance any character you want regardless of the characters gender.

Also, this might just be me, but I love how the female characters act in this series. This game easily passes the Benchel test. True, at certain points you have to save a couple of female characters, but you also have to save the male characters just as often. All the characters have strengths and weaknesses as well as interesting personalities. Even the bad guys are likeable! The only annoying character in my opinion is CID, outside of him everyone else is so loveable I just want to hug them. Then again, maybe not. They might kill me if I tried it, but hey worth a shot.

If you haven’t played these games, you are missing out! They are a blast to play.

Author:

Growing up, Megan was that one kid at the back of class reading manga. Now, not much has changed except she started a blog. Basically, your typical geek (although she prefers the term Otaku)

Leave a Reply

